Skip to Content

Costa Rica

Capital City: San José

Currency: Costa Rican Colón

Official languages: Spanish

Neighbouring countries: Panama and Nicaragua

Interesting places to visit include: Tortuguero National Park, Poás Volcano, Corcovado National Park, Arenal Volcano, Puerto Viejo, Manuel Antonio National Park

Time Zone: Central Standard Time (UTC -6)

Largest City: San José

Some interesting and fun facts about Costa Ricans: Locals call themselves Ticos (for male) and Ticas (for female). As foreigner you are called Gringo (for male) and Gringa (for female).